Are you looking back?

Hi,

This week , I want to talk about another married woman who didn’t fix her eyes on God. There is no name for her. She is known as Lot’s wife. She reminds me of Job’s wife. However we know what her end was. We don’t have to make a guess. We know. She “became a pillar of salt.” Genesis 19 : 26
However there are others guess we can make. Why did she look back? Was she thinking of her friends? Was she thinking about her wealth, her possessions, her…? Or was she only curious? Maybe she only wanted to see what God was doing, to understand why she had to flee. 
Whatever her reasons for looking back, she did it. Yet the angel told them “Don’t look back.” Genesis 19 : 17
Jesus also told us to not look back.  He said: “No one who puts his hand to the plow and looks back is fit for service in the kingdom of God“. Luke 9 : 62.  Are you willing to be a servant in God’s kingdom, to be an instrument for noble purposes? Don’t look back. No regrets. No “my life would have been different if…”. No desire to return to your vomit, to question the decision you took to follow Jesus. ” Don’t look back! Cry when it is difficult, but don’t look back. Don’t look at what you have lost for Christ’s sake. 
Don’t imitate me. I spent hours wondering if a decision I took years before, out of love for God, was a good decision. I wanted to know, to understand. The more I wanted to know, the less I trusted God. The less I trusted God, the more I was paralyzed. A friend of mine told me something like: “If you keep on looking back, Satan will win.” She was telling me : ” Stop looking back or you would become a pillar of salt.” Therefore, like Paul, I am going to do one thing : “forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 3: 13- 14
There is nothing worth looking at behind. Jesus is ahead!

Leave a Reply

