His Father’s business.

So when they saw Him, they were amazed; and His mother said to Him, “Son, why have You done this to us? Look, Your father and I have sought You anxiously.” And He said to them, “Why did you seek Me? Did you not know that I must be about My Father’s business?”  But they did not understand the statement which He spoke to them. (Luke 2:48-50)

I love Jesus. I am in awe of Him. He is so Him. Even as a child He was already so Him. He knew who He was. He knew what was His mission.He knew what was important and was not afraid of saying it loudly. He is more than an example: He is a dream. A dream came true.

Jesus was 12 and He wanted to be where He could see God. He was 12 and He wanted to hear about God, to speak about Him. God was His life, His passion. God was who He was about . God’s business was His business, what His life was about. So if it is true that I Have to walk just as He walked (1 John 2:6), then I should be about His Father’s business, my Father’s business.

If it is true that I am following Him, I should be consumed about hearing about God, speaking about Him. God would be who I am about. God’s business would be my business.  When I spend my week, my day, my night thinking about my life, thinking about the desires of my flesh, being angry with that sister who did that to me, that brother who treats me like that, and so on… whose business am I about? Mine or God’s? Then there are moments when I am about others’ business. I can call it as I want: concern, love, or compassion, but for God I am busybody (1 Thessalonians 4:11, 2 Thessalonians 3:11).

Following Jesus is not about going to Church on Sunday or on Saturday. It is not about taking the commitment to get married with a believer. It is not about sharing my faith once a week or having a quiet time once a day. Following Jesus is about being like Him: to be about His Father’s business. Then we will seek first His Kingdom and His justice and we will trust that He will take care of the rest (Matthew 6:33). Following Jesus is to live a life that cries: “God’s is my only business!”

Then I can praise, meditate  pray, love, forgive, serve, evangelize, die and so more because it is about Him. Nothing else matters: people, what they think, my life, my dreams, my desires, my frustrations, my singleness, the family I wish I had, the money I thing I need… nothing. Then I can be a bondservant and be obedient  to the point of death, even the death of the cross (Philippians 2: 5-8).

One thought on “His Father’s business.

Leave a Reply

