Never forgotten

Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? And not one of them is forgotten before God. Why, even the hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not; you are of more value than many sparrows.” Luke 12:6-7

Have you ever felt forgotten by God? Have you ever looked at your life and wondered what was wrong with you? Why despite your desire and your striving to please the Lord, He doesn’t seem to notice you at all? I have been there. And I got my answer. I don’t have to do something to be noticed by God. He can’t forget me.

He created me in His image (Genesis 1:27). I am His. If I wander far from Him, He will seek me till He finds me (Luke 15:1-10). He has always wanted me in His family  (Ephesians 1:5) and He gave His only son so that I can spend eternity with Him (John 3:16). If the Lord Almighty does not forget one sparrow even though we consider them of little value how could He forget me when He created me a second time in Christ to be His workmanship (Ephesians 2:10)? I am never forgotten.

If God is pleased to give me the kingdom how could He refused me lesser blessings?  When God says “no” to my dreams and prayers it just means that I have been dreaming of stones and praying for snakes. And my God, who alone is good, will never give me what will harm me, but only what is good (Matthew 7: 9-11).

No, God never forgets me. Not for a moment does He stop watching over me.

Can a woman forget her nursing child, that she should have no compassion on the son of her womb? Even these may forget, yet I will not forget you. Behold, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands; your walls are continually before me.” Isaiah 49:15-16

 

Leave a Reply

