Never alone

“If you love me, you will keep my commandments. And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Helper, to be with you forever, even the Spirit of truth…”  John 14:15-17
Let’s be honest being single is not always easy. I don’t know for you but there are days when being  alone seems a curse. When  my friends and siblings get married and have babies I feel abandoned by the Lord. When it is dark and cold outside  I dream of someone to wander with me on the city streets. When it is difficult to pray or to evangelize I wish I had that partner with me. Sometimes I just want to share a joke, a line from a movie, a good news or a meal with that special someone. Sometimes I want to be the helper I think God created me to be.
Being single is difficult. You want and need someone to help you carry the grocery bags. You need help to put together that bed you just bought. You need someone to tell you that you are beautiful when you feel ugly. You need someone with whom to share that scripture, that revelation you just have about Jesus at 2 a.m. I can go on and on.
But just when you wonder how you will keep going alone, the king steps in. He makes your life looks like a movie and saves you at the last moment. He defeats the devil, wiping out all your doubts and pouring all His love on you.
He is never far. He always with you (Matthew 28:20), ready to come to your rescue even when you don’t ask for help. You are not an orphan ( John 14:18). You are never left alone “for your Maker is your husband.” (Isaiah 54:4-8)
You have a Helper, an Advocate, a Counselor who fights for you, guides you, helps you, giving you what you need emotional, physically, materially and spiritually.
How He does it is not important. He is doing it every day  of your life if you keep Jesus’ commands.
Does that truth changes my reality? Not really. But I am comforted. I know I am loved. I know that I am not alone. When it is hard, I  have someone to turn to. I will always be helped because my God is faithful. No, ” God is not man, that He should lie, or a son of man, that He should change His mind.” (Number 23:19)
2 thoughts on “Never alone

Leave a Reply

