Singleness!

 Then shall the young women rejoice in the dance, and the young men and the old shall be merry.
I will turn their mourning into joy; I will comfort them, and give them gladness for sorrow.
I will feast the soul of the priests with abundance, and my people shall be satisfied with my goodness, declares the LORD.” Jeremiah 31:13-14

My new favorite scripture! The LORD promises to comfort us and to satisfy us with His goodness. And as we know, He never lies. So just to read this promise is comforting. Because there are times (so much) when we need to be comforted, especially as singles. Being single is not always easy. I am far from being miserable, but I need comfort in those moments when it is difficult to be alone, when I feel the need to have someone special in my life.

When I find it hard to share my faith, when I feel the urge to go and knock at my neighbors’ doors, I desperately need a partner.

When I make a discovery about Jesus at 3 a.m. , I want to share it with someone right away, someone special.

When I feel that my world is falling apart, I need someone to take me into his hands.

And believe it or not, I want someone to cook for, to clean for, to be submissive to.

When I need to take a big decision, I really need a husband.

I long to share the difficult moments and my joyful noises with that special someone and to hear about His craziness.

When I grocery shop and cannot carry all, I can really use some help.

Every Friday night, I need a husband, just to waste time with him.

Yes, I need a gospel partner who will also be a life partner.

And when everyone I meet seems to be married, have a baby or be pregnant, I resent being single.

In all those moments as always,  I need God to be my God and to comfort me. I need to hear His voice whispering: “I am sovereign and good and I love you with an everlasting love” (Jeremiah 31:3).

When I cried because I don’t understand, He is the same, the God of all comfort (2 Corinthians 1:3). And His goodness is enough, even when my heart says the opposite.

 “And I will be to her a wall of fire all around, declares the LORD, and I will be the glory in her midst.” Zechariah 2:5

 

Leave a Reply

