So anxious!?

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7

That people may know, from the rising of the sun and from the west, that there is none besides me; I am the Lord, and there is no other. I form light and create darkness, I make well-being and create calamity, I am the Lord, who does all these things. Isaiah 45:6-7

There are so many reasons to be anxious. Everything we do and say, everything we are and have , all the things we fail to do and say, all the things we are not and don’t have are reasons to be anxious. I have been so anxious lately, anxious about my past, anxious about my present and anxious about my future. And God, in His amazing grace, reminded me how foolish I was to be anxious. After all I am just a creature. (Matthew 6:25-34)

The Holy Spirit convinces me that I need to stop being anxious, not because everything is going to happen as I want, but because I am not the one in control (Proverbs 19:21).

I cannot change the past and decide for the future. I can plan, dream, but at the end there is only one being that can give a meaning to my past, decide for my present and build my future, God. Only Him has the power to do something about anything. And the good news is I am His creature, and more His daughter.

The one who decides of victories and failures (Proverbs 21:31-32), the one who says a word and things happen (Psalm 33:9, Lamentations 3:17, Romans 4:17), is my Father and He cares for me. I am His and He is going to make everything work for my good (Romans 8:28).

So I can plan, build, watch over without being anxious for the one who decides cares for me (Psalm 127:1-2). So my new plan is to let Him teach me how to just seat, enjoy the landscape and rejoice.

O Lord, my heart is not lifted up; my eyes are not raised too high; I do not occupy myself with things too great and too marvelous for me. But have calmed and quieted my soul, like a weaned child with its mother; like a weaned child is my soul within me. O Israel, hope in the Lord from this time forth and forevermore. Psalm 131

Leave a Reply

