This time I will praise the Lord!

Judah, your brothers shall praise you; your hand shall be on the neck of your enemies; your father’s sons shall bow down before you… The scepter shall not depart from Judah, nor the ruler’s staff from between his feet, until tribute comes to him; and to him shall be the obedience of the peoples. (Genesis 49:8-10)

Have you ever wondered why the Messiah is from the tribe of Judah? Why from Judah and not from Joseph, “who was set apart from his brothers.”? (Genesis 49:29)?

Maybe because He is the only son of Jacob that was for the glory of God. His other sons were for the glory of their parents. They chose their names for their own gratification.

Reuben was chosen  “Because the Lord has looked upon my affliction; for now my husband will love me.”;  Simeon “Because the Lord has heard that I am hated, he has given me this son also.”;  Levi for, “Now this time my husband will be attached to me, because I have borne him three sons.”; Dan for “God has judged me, and has also heard my voice and given me a son.”; Naphtali for “With mighty wrestlings I have wrestled with my sister and have prevailed.” ; Gad for “Good fortune has come!” ; Asher for “Happy am I! For women have called me happy.”; Issachar for “God has given me my wages because I gave my servant to my husband.”; Zebulun for “God has endowed me with a good endowment; now my husband will honor me, because I have borne him six sons.”; Joseph for “God has taken away my reproach.”, and “May the Lord add to me another son!”; and Benjamin means son of the right hand. (Genesis 29: 32-34, 30: 6-13, 18-20, 22-24, 35:18)

But Judah’s name was given to Him for the LORD’s sake (Genesis 29:35). Because after all, the LORD is worthy of being praised, and not only because of His blessings, but because of who He is. And in some way, Judah’s life was a praise to the Lord.

Leave a Reply

