All we like sheep

“The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want… Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. (Psalm 23:1-4 ESV)

Today I read about God being our shepherd and it was encouraging, a blessing. It is always encouraging to  hear/read that God meets all our needs. Yes, we shall never want. However, today, here is what was really encouraging:

  1. God choosing to be a shepherd, choosing in Christ to get His hands dirty to save and keep us;
  2. God protecting us against our enemies with His staff, and disciplining us with His rod to prevent us from wandering far from Him. (2 Samuel 7:14)

To be honest, I don’t like the “discipline” part, but I am grateful for it because the world is filled with dangers, with waves, torrents, falls, wild animals,etc. All things that would kill my soul if God were not my shepherd.

I guess it is the reason God’s word commands us to be grateful in all circumstances. Indeed, even in the worse, we are never alone and we are safe.

Leave a Reply

