Glory

Nevertheless, many even of the authorities believed in him, but for fear of the Pharisees they did not confess it, so that they would not be put out of the synagogue; for they loved the glory that comes from man more than the glory that comes from God. (John 12:42-43 ESV)

They loved the glory that comes from man more than the glory that comes from God because they did not want to be put out of the synagogue. Being put out of the synagogue meant rejection, shame, embarrassment, loss of social status, etc. and they were not willing to endure that. Oh, I understand how they felt.  I am tempted every day to choose  the glory that comes from man.

Will I be willing, today, tomorrow and the day after tomorrow, etc. to be without friends at work, to be without church or to lose the consideration of my “spiritual family”, to be despised by the non-believers around me (siblings, friends, neighbors, coworkers, etc.) for the sake of Christ? Am I going to open my Bible on the bus, subway, train, even if it means being laughed at? Am I going to seek the glory that comes from God even if it means that I will have none on this earth?

Every day, you and I  must make a choice. Let the following words of Christ help us make the right one: Whoever loves his life loses it, and whoever hates his life in this world will keep it for eternal life. (John 12:25 ESV)

Leave a Reply

