Tired?

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30
Have you ever been so tired that even to sleep is a challenge? I have. There are times I hope everything would stop for a moment. Times when I just want to be in a comfortable place, with comfortable people, doing comfortable things. In fact what I really want is to be alone in heaven. No one to hate me, no one to despise me, no one to judge me. No one to care about, no one to have to give to.

In those times I need to be reminded of who my Lord and of my need to rest in Him.
He called to Him those who are weary in order to give them rest (Matthew 11:28). He will never let me alone with my burdens whether sins or anxieties or circumstances or people. How many times did I refuse His rest? How many times I wandered tired and hopeless when a refuge, a tender rock where ready to welcome me and encourage me and carry me? How many times did I forget that His rest is my salvation (Isaiah 30:15)?
Well if you are tired today, you know where to go. The creator of the universe is waiting for you. He has rest in store for you.

Leave a comment